Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

ciemnyborgheseThis started as one of the Roman sketches, at the Villa Borghese park (sadly, I did not get to see the Borghese Museum since all the tickets for the whole week were booked out. Funnily enough, though, the first little square I crossed there bore the name of a Polish novelist Henryk Sienkiewicz – he’s the one that wrote Quo Vadis and got a Nobel for it. Destiny!). But I knew straight away that the composition was a bit off (the tree should be more to the side), so in the end I decided to use this imperfect drawing to explore and go a bit crazy with the ink and the branches… and it ended up as this rather strange mixture of bucolic Italian architecture and quite gothic colours! (Yes, I know, I could’ve just cropped it!). What do you think?

 

